Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search


1. The NALHFA awards program is only open to members in good standing as of submission date.

2. Nominations can be submitted for following categories:

Multifamily Excellence
This category recognizes innovative multifamily projects and programs and is our most popular category. Many multifamily special needs projects are recognized within this category including homeless housing with supportive services and senior housing.  Other past winners include a converted elementary school and SRO Green project.

Single-Family Excellence

This category recognizes achievement in single-family projects and programs.  Innovation and creativity in this category comes in all sizes from an individual home rehabilitation to single-family neighborhood developments focused on low-income households.

HOME Excellence
The HOME program has successfully financed affordable housing in communities across the country. This category focuses on projects with a HOME component.  The funds do not have to directly come from the submitting agency but must be included in the deal. Past recipients include down payment assistance programs, acquisition/ rehab projects and new construction.

Redevelopment Excellence
This category recognizes successful redevelopment programs in difficult to develop areas. The success should reach beyond a single project and include large community impact.  Past winners in this category include a combination of new construction and adaptive reuse, reaching beyond housing to impact their communities.

3. Each member agency or nonprofit may only nominate two projects overall and only one project or program for each category during each round of solicitations. An agency or non-profit can not nominate two projects in the same category.

4. All submissions will be judged using the same criteria (see below). Please directly address each criterion in your submission; submissions for the HOME Award should specifically mention and describe the use of HOME funds.

5. The Awards Selection Committee will consist of at least four housing finance professionals from different agencies in geographically diverse regions of the country.

6. If a Selection Committee member's agency nominates a project or program, that member must abstain from judging any proposals in that round of competition.

7. Judging will be subjective but the Selection Committee will be mindful of the variation across agencies in: financial resources, staff capacity, types of housing problems, and legal authority to undertake various activities, etc.

8. The Selection Committee will not consider nominations for projects or programs that are not complete AND in operation.  However, the Committee is looking for recent innovation and benefit to the community, therefore projects or programs should not have been completed and in operation more than three years ago.

Submit Nomination Application Today!


Each criterion will receive equal weight; the order in which they appear here does not imply relative importance. Please specifically address each of the following categories.


1. Extraordinary Benefit to the Community

  • Meets the needs of low- and moderate-income segments of the community
  • Achieves member/community public purpose goals at low cost to the member
  • Targets particular neighborhood(s) for revitalization

2. Innovation

  • In financing mechanisms, financing sources, partnerships
  • In use of land or buildings
  • In exceptional physical design components

3. Transferability

  • Extent to which the program or project could serve as a model or demonstration for other members, or could/will be replicated within the community

4. Affordability

  • Percentage of units with rents affordable to low- and moderate-income tenants
  • Degree to which program or project serves households at relatively low percentages of area median income
  • Tenure of affordability

5. Serving Needs of Special Groups

  • Physically or mentally disabled
  • Elderly
  • Single-family households
  • Large families
  • Homeless
  • Minorities
  • Other groups targeted for assistance in its community


All nomination packets should be submitted electronically, in PDF format, using the online submission form.  The electronic packets will be distributed to the awards committee for their review.  If you have any technical issues, please contact NALHFA directly at (202) 367-1197.

Maximum packet size is 20 pages; larger submissions will NOT be accepted.

All submissions should include the following information:

1. Thorough Description of Project or Program:

  • Specifically in terms of the above five categories of criteria.
  • Date the project or program was initiated, amount and type of financial resources, and the breakdown and characteristics of the residents.
  • Goals, objectives, and anticipated long-range benefits of the project or program indicating how these goals have been met to date.
  • Industry partners and their role in ensuring a successful project or program.
  • Role/reaction of the community and elected officials and their roles in developing the project or program.
  • Submission should also include the following:
    • Sources & Uses
    • Rents or Sales Price Chart
    • Project Operating Budget
2. Visual Aids


All packets should include visual aids to share the layout and results of the project.  Great photographs always enhance submissions.

Visual aids may include, but are not limited to:

  • Maps
  • Photographs
  • Architect's renderings

3. Supporting Documents may include, but are not limited to:

  • Relevant portions of the Comprehensive Housing Affordability Strategy (CHAS)
  • Press releases
  • Media stories
  • Relevant portions of HOME Program Description

*Please Do Not Submit Official Statements*

NOTE: Documents mentioned in (2) and (3) above may not stand alone to describe the project or program as required in (1) above.


NALHFA award winners will be recognized at the 2020 Annual Conference Awards Luncheon on Thursday, May 7, in New York, NY.

NALHFA must RECEIVE all nomination packages by the close of business Friday, March 6, 2020 for consideration.

Please note the $65 processing fee must be received by the close of business Friday, March 6, 2020 to be considered for awards.

This form must be submitted with the electronic packet and submitted along with payment to NALHFA.

If you have any questions, please contact NALHFA at or 202-367-1197.

As a reminder, all submissions and payments must be received by the close of business Friday, March 6, 2020.


Submit Nomination Application Today!


more Calendar

5/12/2021 » 5/15/2021
NALHFA 2021 Annual Conference

4/24/2022 » 4/27/2022
NALHFA 2022 Annual Conference

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal